[Skip to Content]
PHMSA Logo
U.S. Department
of Transportation

Pipeline Safety Stakeholder Communications

Pipeline Safety Connects Us All

Community Liaison Services

(Formerly known as the Community Assistance and Technical Services (CATS) Program)

PHMSA has renamed its CATS program to "Community Liaison Services" to more appropriately align with current roles and responsibilities and better interface with various stakeholders.


Mission

To advance PHMSA’s pipeline safety mission by proactively engaging with pipeline stakeholders, providing technical expertise, and leveraging technology, data, and information to reduce pipeline risks and influence change through program and policy development.

Vision

To serve as "trusted" and "credible" stewards of public safety and environmental protection by raising awareness and influencing change to continuously improve pipeline safety.

If you need assistance with any of the following pipeline safety related matters, please contact a PHMSA Community Liaison today:

  • Pipeline safety policy/programs (damage prevention, public awareness, emergency response, PIPA, etc.)
  • Pipeline stakeholder engagement and outreach
  • Pipeline technical services and support (public inquiries, whistleblowers, post incident/accident communications, siting and permit initiatives)
  • Questions about pipeline safety in your community

Community Liaisons are located within each PHMSA region. Contact information for the Community Liaison for your state is noted below.

Community Liaison Services Program Manager

Karen Lynch:

karen.lynch@dot.gov

Phone: (202) 366-6855


OPS Central Region
Illinois; Indiana; Iowa; Kansas; Michigan; Minnesota; Missouri; Nebraska; North Dakota; South Dakota; Wisconsin.

Angela Pickett:

angela.pickett@dot.gov

Phone: (816) 329-3823

Sean Quinlan:

sean.quinlan@dot.gov

Phone: (816) 329-3800


OPS Southern Region
Alabama; Florida; Georgia; Kentucky; Mississippi; North Carolina; Puerto Rico; South Carolina; Tennessee.

James Kelly:

james.kelly@dot.gov

Phone: (404) 990-1848

Arthur Buff:

arthur.buff@dot.gov

Phone: (404) 832-1155


OPS Eastern Region
Connecticut; Delaware; Maine; Maryland; Massachusetts; New Hampshire; New Jersey; New York; Ohio; Pennsylvania; Rhode Island; Vermont; Virginia; Washington, D.C.; West Virginia.

Karen Gentile:

karen.gentile@dot.gov

Phone: (609) 433-6650

Ian Woods:

ian.woods@dot.gov

Phone: (609) 468-9478


OPS Southwest Region

Arkansas; Louisiana; New Mexico; Oklahoma; Texas.

Bill Lowry:

bill.lowry@dot.gov

Phone: (713) 272-2845

James ‘Jay’ Prothro:

james.prothro@dot.gov

Phone: (713) 272-2832


OPS Western Region
Alaska; Arizona; California; Colorado; Hawaii; Idaho; Montana; Nevada; Oregon; Utah; Washington; Wyoming.

Tom Finch:

thomas.finch@dot.gov

Phone: (720) 963-3175

Dave Mulligan:

david.mulligan@dot.gov

Phone: (720) 963-3193


div>